List of school, office closings and delays around the DC area for Monday

School closings and delays around the DC area.

This weekend’s snowstorm has caused a number of school and office closings/delays in and around the D.C. area for Monday. Below is a complete list.


- Federal offices in DC and DC government offices will be closed Monday, Jan. 14. This applies to non-furloughed, non-emergency employees. Emergency employees are expected to report to their worksites unless told otherwise.

-Maryland State Government on Liberal Leave on Monday.

-The Fairfax County Circuit Court, General District Court and Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court will open on time. Fairfax County Government offices will open at 10 a.m.

-Jewish Community Center Greater Washington: The Bender JCC will open at 7 a.m. Monday. Preschool, KAS and after school classes are cancelled.

-Mt Zion Baptist Church Triangle will be closed Monday.

-Montgomery County Government offices and departments are closed as of 7 a.m. Essential employees must report as scheduled. Non-essential government departments and facilities will be closed.

- Prince George's County government offices will be operating on a two-hour delay.

- City of Laurel offices will open at 11 a.m. on Monday.

- Alexandria courts will be closed on Monday.


- DC Public Schools and some DC Charter schools

-Marymount University:

Due to inclement weather Marymount University will be closed on Monday.

-Howard University:

Due to the inclement weather, Howard University will be closed on Monday, January 14, 2019, and will re-open on Tuesday, January 15, 2019. All classes scheduled for Monday are canceled. Residence halls will remain open and staffed today and during the closure period.

Please note, due to hazardous road conditions, campus shuttle service has been suspended today, January 13, 2019, and will be suspended tomorrow, January 14, 2019.

-Alexandria City Public Schools

- Prince George's County Public Schools

-Prince William County Public Schools

-Anne Arundel County Public Schools

- Stafford County Public Schools

- Fauquier County Public Schools

-Manassas City Public Schools

-Manassas City Public Schools will be closed with code blue for school employees.

- Fairfax County Public Schools

- Arlington Public Schools

- Charles County Public Schools

- Loudoun County Public Schools

- St. Mary's County Public Schools

- Calvert County Public Schools

- Howard County Public Schools

- Montgomery County Public Schools

- Frederick County Public Schools

For the complete list of all closures and delays, click here.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off