Hockey Hall of Fame induction 2012: Adam Oates to be inducted to highest honor

Adam Oates played for the Capitals from 1997-2002. He's now the team's head coach. Photo: Associated Press

TORONTO (AP) - The Hockey Hall of Fame is welcoming four new members.

Mats Sundin, Joe Sakic, Pavel Bure and Adam Oates are being inducted in the player category.

The former star NHL forwards were presented with their Hall of Fame member rings at a news conference Monday morning.

A formal induction ceremony will be held in the evening.

In 1,337 NHL games, Oates scored 341 goals and recorded 1,079 assists with Detroit, St. Louis, Boston, Washington, Philadelphia, Anaheim and Edmonton. He was a member of the Capitals 1997-98 team that went to the franchise's only Stanley Cup Final.

On June 26, the team announced that Oates would become the team's new permanent head coach.

Buffalo Sabres play-by-play voice Rick Jeanneret and Globe and Mail columnist Roy MacGregor are also being honored.

Jeanneret will receive the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for outstanding contributions as a hockey broadcaster and MacGregor will receive the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award for excellence in hockey journalism.