Alexander Ovechkin named Ted Lindsay Award finalist

Photo: Associated Press

Alexander Ovechkin's late-season surge not only helped the Washington Capitals to a Southeast Division title, it has also garnered him a nod for at least one major postseason award.

The NHL announced today that Ovechkin is one of three finalists for the 2013 Ted Lindsay Award, which is given every year to the league's most outstanding player.

Unlike the Hart Trophy, which is given to the NHL's MVP and is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association, the Lindsay Award is voted on by the league's players.

Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins and Martin St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning are the other two finalists.

Ovechkin's stirring end of the season carried him to the league's goal scoring league, scoring 32 goals during the shortened 2013 season. He finished third in the league with 56 points as well.

Crosby also tallied 56 points in just 36 games before missing the end of the regular season with a broken jaw.

At 37, St. Louis became the oldest player in NHL history to lead the league in points, scoring 60 while playing in all 48 games with Tampa Bay. It was his second regular season scoring title.

Ovechkin has already won this award twice in his career, taking home the honor in 2007-08 and 2008-09. At the time, it was called the Lester B. Pearson Award.