Winter Weather Advisory issued for parts of D.C. area

(WJLA) - A Winter Weather Advisory has been posted for the most of the counties in Maryland and Virginia to the west of Washington.

The National Weather Service says that the counties of Loudoun, Prince William, Fairfax, Fauquier, Montgomery and Frederick counties are under the advisory, including the cities of Gaithersburg, Leesburg, Manassas, Manassas Park and Fairfax.

Forecasters expect either freezing rain, sleet or light snow to start falling early Tuesday morning and continue through the afternoon.

For the latest forecast in your neighborhood, check out or download the free Stormwatch 7 app for your iPhone, iPad or Android device.