Five Red Line Metro stations closed this weekend

(Courtesy: WMATA)

Five Red Line WMATA stations closed Friday night as the system does major track work in Montgomery County.

Starting Friday night at 10 p.m., the Takoma, Silver Spring, Forest Glen, Wheaton and Glenmont stations were shuttered while crews rebuild track and do other major work the five stations.

Buses will replace trains between Glenmont and Fort Totten. Customers are being advised to add 30 minutes to their travel time. Riders can find more information on the WMATA website.

Single tracking will also occur between Foggy Bottom-GWU and McPherson Square.

All work is expected to wrap up by Sunday night. WMATA has posted information about all planned track work for the year on their website.