2014 Pulitzer Prize winners include reporters who broke Edward Snowden leak story

      NEW YORK (AP) - The Pulitzer Prizes, journalism's highest honor, were announced Monday.

      Among the winners are reporters who revealed the massive U.S. government surveillance effort. Revelations about the spy programs were first published in June in The Guardian and The Washington Post, which last week received a George Polk Award for national security reporting.

      The disclosures by The Guardian and The Post showed that the National Security Agency has collected information about millions of Americans' phone calls and emails based on its classified interpretations of laws passed after the 2001 terrorist attacks. The documents revealed that telephone and Internet companies such as Verizon, AT&T, Apple, Microsoft and Facebook have been cooperating with the government on these national security programs.

      The stories were based on thousands of documents handed over by NSA leaker Edward Snowden. The reports were published by Barton Gellman of The Post and Glenn Greenwald, Laura Poitras and Ewan MacAskill of The Guardian, all of whom shared the Polk Award for national security reporting.

      The public was outraged to learn of the dragnet surveillance. And the disclosures have led to proposed overhauls of some U.S. surveillance programs, changes in the way the government spies on foreign allies, additional disclosures to defendants in some terrorism cases and demands from private companies to share details about government cooperation with their customers and shareholders.

      Snowden has been charged with three offenses in the U.S., including espionage, and could face up to 30 years in prison if convicted. He is currently living in Russia, which granted him asylum for one year.

      The 2014 Pulitzer Prize winners:


      Public Service: The Guardian US and The Washington Post

      Breaking News Reporting: The Boston Globe staff

      Investigative Reporting: Chris Hamby of The Center for Public Integrity, Washington, D.C.

      Explanatory Reporting: Eli Saslow of The Washington Post

      Local Reporting: Will Hobson and Michael LaForgia of the Tampa Bay Times

      National Reporting: David Philipps of The Gazette, Colorado Springs, Colo.

      International Reporting: Jason Szep and Andrew R.C. Marshall of Reuters

      Feature Writing: No award

      Commentary: Stephen Henderson of the Detroit Free Press

      Criticism: Inga Saffron of The Philadelphia Inquirer

      Editorial Writing: Editorial staff of The Oregonian, Portland

      Editorial Cartooning: Kevin Siers of The Charlotte Observer

      Breaking News Photography: Tyler Hicks of The New York Times

      Feature Photography:
      Josh Haner of The New York Times



      Fiction: "The Goldfinch" by Donna Tartt (Little, Brown)

      Drama: "The Flick" by Annie Baker

      History: "The Internal Enemy: Slavery and War in Virginia, 1772-1832" by Alan Taylor (W.W. Norton)

      : "Margaret Fuller: A New American Life" by Megan Marshall (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

      Poetry: "3 Sections" by Vijay Seshadri (Graywolf Press)

      General Nonfiction: "Toms River": A Story of Science and Salvation by Dan Fagin (Bantam Books)



      "Become Ocean" by John Luther Adams, premiered on June 20, 2013, by the Seattle Symphony (Taiga Press/Theodore Front Musical Literature)

      The Pulitzers are given out each year by Columbia University on the recommendation of a board of journalists and others.

      View a full list of this year's nominees and finalists on the The Pulitzer website.

      { }

      { }