Prince George's County residents advised to boil water after Hyattsville main breaks

      HYATTSVILLE, Md. (AP/WJLA) - About 100,000 residents in Prince George's County should boil their water before drinking it following a water main break.

      The Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission said the residents are under a precautionary water-boil advisory until sometime Thursday or Friday.

      The advisory was issued Tuesday night after a 59-year-old water main broke. The 24-inch water main ruptured on Tanglewood Drive in Hyattsville.

      Commission spokeswoman Lyn Riggins said when a water system loses pressure, there's an increased risk of contamination. But she said Wednesday that there had been no evidence of contamination so far since the break.

      The commission advised residents to boil their water before drinking it, brushing their teeth, washing dishes, making ice or preparing food.

      The advisory applies to residents in Hyattsville, Bladensburg, Mount Rainier, Cheverly, Chillum, Edmonston, Landover Hills, Glenarden, Fairmount Heights, Seat Pleasant, Brentwood and North Brentwood.

      An interactive map on WSSC's website shows which residents are in the affected areas.

      Numerous public schools in the affected areas will receive bottled water in response to the boil water advisory.{ }The impacted schools and sites include:

      Annapolis Road Academy Alternative HS

      Beacon Heights ES

      Bladensburg ES

      Bladensburg HS

      Bonnie F. Johns Educational Media Center

      Capitol Heights ES

      Carmody Hills ES

      Central HS

      Cesar Chavez ES

      Chillum ES

      Cooper Lane ES

      Cora L. Rice ES

      Dodge Park ES

      Doswell E. Brooks ES

      Fairmont Heights HS

      G. James Gholson MS

      Gladys Noon Spellman ES

      Glenridge ES

      H. Winship Wheatley Center

      Highland Park ES

      Hyattsville ES

      Hyattsville MS

      ISSC Warehouse

      John Carroll ES

      John H. Bayne ES

      Judge Sylvania W. Woods ES

      Judith P. Hoyer Early Childhood Centre

      Kenmoor ES

      Kenmoor MS

      Matthew Henson ES (Charter)

      Mt. Rainier ES

      Nicholas Orem MS

      Oakcrest ES

      Phyllis E. Williams ES

      Port Towns ES

      Ridgecrest ES

      Riverdale ES

      Robert R. Gray ES

      Rogers Heights ES

      Rosa L. Parks ES

      Seat Pleasant ES

      Templeton ES

      Thomas Stone ES

      Walker Mill MS

      William Paca ES

      William Wirt MS

      Woodridge ES