Orange County Great Park in Irvine, Ca. to host 2013 Solar Decathlon

The University of Maryland 2011 entry to the solar decathlon.

The U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon 2013 will be held in Orange County Great Park in Irvine, Ca.

The announcement was made by U.S. Department of Energy Secretary Steven Chu.

Twenty teams from colleges and universities across the U.S. and from around the world will begin a two-year process to build solar-powered, highly energy-efficient homes that combine affordability, consumer appeal and design excellence.

“As President Obama made clear in the State of the Union address this week, we need to ensure that the next generation of America’s architects, engineers and entrepreneurs have the hands-on experience and training they need to lead our nation’s clean energy future,” said Secretary Chu.

“The Solar Decathlon will unleash the ingenuity, creativity and drive from these talented students to demonstrate new ideas for how families and businesses can reduce energy use and save money with clean energy products and efficient building design,” he said.

As part of the Solar Decathlon, teams compete in ten different categories - ranging from best architecture and engineering to energy production for heating and cooling - while gaining invaluable real-world experience in a growing global industry.

The following teams have been selected from around the world to compete in Solar Decathlon 2013:

Arizona State University and the University of New Mexico (Tempe, Ariz., and Albuquerque, N.M.)*The Catholic University of America, George Washington University, and American University (Washington, DC)Czech Technical University (Prague, Czech Republic) Hampton University and Old Dominion University (Hampton and Norfolk, Va.) Middlebury College (Middlebury, Vt.) Missouri University of Science and Technology (Rolla, Mo.) Norwich University (Northfield, Vt.) Queens University, Carleton University, and Algonquin College (Kingston and Ottawa, Ontario, Canada) Santa Clara University (Santa Clara, Calif.) Southern California Institute of Architecture and California Institute of Technology (Los Angeles, Calif.) Stanford University (Palo Alto, Calif.) Stevens Institute of Technology (Hoboken, N.J.) The University of North Carolina at Charlotte (Charlotte, N.C.) The University of Texas at El Paso and El Paso Community College (El Paso, Texas) University of Calgary (Calgary, Alberta, Canada) University of Louisville, Ball State University and University of Kentucky (Louisville, Ky.; Muncie, Ind.; and Lexington, Ky.) University of Nevada Las Vegas (Las Vegas, Nev.) University of Southern California (Los Angeles, Calif.) Vienna University of Technology (Vienna, Austria) West Virginia University (Morgantown, W. Va.)