Maryland declared disaster area in wake of June 29 derecho

Photo: ABC7

For the second time in two days, President Barack Obama issued a disaster declaration in the wake of the June 29 derecho - this one for the state of Maryland.

The declaration means that Maryland government agencies and some nonprofit organizations can access federal aid for damage repairs in Calvert, Charles, Kent, Montgomery and St. Mary's counties. The City of Baltimore is also included in the declaration.

On Wednesday, President Obama declared a disaster in the District of Columbia.