Hundreds of Virginia drivers ticketed for texting while driving

(WJLA) - More than 300 drivers have been stopped and cited in Virginia for texting while driving since the commonwealth's new law went into effect earlier this year.

Virginia State Police officials say that between July 1, the day texting while driving became a primary offense, and Sept. 28, state troopers issued 328 citations to drivers caught with their phones in their hands.

Maryland, the District of Columbia and Virginia have all made sending and reading text messages while driving a primary offense over the past several years, meaning that law enforcement officers can pull drivers over specifically for violating this law.

First-time offenders receive a $125 ticket, while subsequent violations cost $250 each.