Derecho: 7 Virginia localities eligible for FEMA help

RICHMOND, Va. (AP) - Governments in another seven Virginia localities are eligible for federal disaster aid to help pay costs stemming from severe storms in late June.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says Franklin, Montgomery, Smyth and Stafford counties, and the cities of Buena Vista, Falls Church and Harrisonburg have been added to the state's disaster declaration.

FEMA said Wednesday that the additions are due to new damage assessments conducted in the localities last week.

Local governments can apply for public assistance grants to help pay for repairs to public infrastructure, emergency protective measures taken during the storms and debris removal from public roads.

A total 51 counties and 18 cities are now eligible for public assistance grants.