David Grosso sworn in as newest D.C. Council member

David Grosso is the newest D.C. council member. (Photo courtesy David Grosso)

WASHINGTON (AP) - David Grosso has been sworn in as the newest member of the D.C. Council. Grosso, an independent, defeated Michael A. Brown in November to win an at-large council seat.

He says ethics reform will be his top priority and that he looks forward to a day when the council is "beyond reproach" on ethical issues.

In the past year, two councilmembers have stepped down after pleading guilty to felonies, and federal prosecutors continue to conduct wide-ranging investigations of possible corruption in district government.

Five incumbent councilmembers were also sworn in to new terms Wednesday: Yvette Alexander, Marion Barry, Muriel Bowser, Jack Evans and Vincent Orange.

The D.C. Board of Elections says Brown picked up nominating petitions Wednesday for a special election in April.

He has three weeks to collect 3,000 signatures from registered District of Columbia voters in order to appear on the ballot.

Brown was elected in 2008 to a seat reserved for members of non-majority parties. Now there's another at-large seat open, the seat once occupied by Phil Mendelson.

Mendelson is now D.C. Council Chairman and Brown has changed his registration back to the Democratic Party to run for the seat. Brown is one of 14 possible candidates who have picked up petitions.

{ }