2012 Maryland Primary: Results of Tuesday's primary

Roscoe Bartlett

(AP, ABC7) - Democrat John Delaney has won his party's nomination for the U.S. House of Representatives in Maryland's 6th Congressional District.

With 69 percent of precincts reporting, Delaney had 55 percent of the vote in a field of five.

The multimillionaire financier touted his job-creation experience in defeating state Senate Majority Leader Rob Garagiola for the nomination.

The Montgomery County businessman will now try to reclaim for the Democrats a seat held by Republican Roscoe Bartlett for 20 years.

Bartlett has won his party's nomination to seek an 11th term in Maryland's 6th Congressional District.

With 65 percent of precincts reporting, Bartlett had 44 percent of the vote in a field of eight. The conservative congressman won in a former Republican stronghold drastically reshaped after the 2010 census.

The odds of a Democratic victory in the Nov. 6 general election were improved by redistricting after the 2010 census. Maryland's controlling Democrats added a large chunk of Democrat-heavy Montgomery County to the four western counties comprising the rest of the district.

As a result, Bartlett is expected to face stiff competition in the Nov. 6 general election.

Five Maryland congressional members have been nominated for re-election.

Democratic voters in Tuesday's primary nominated John Sarbanes in the 3rd Congressional District, Donna Edwards in the 4th, Steny Hoyer in the 5th, Elijah Cummings in the 7th and Chris Van Hollen in the 8th.

The state's two other House members were uncontested in the primary. They are freshman Republican Rep. Andy Harris in the 1st District and Democrat C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger in the 2nd.